Welcome to the Help Center! 👋
Welcome to the Help Center! 👋
Welcome to the Help Center! 👋Start
Security and TrustSupported EnvironmentsID VerificationPrivacy and GDPRSigning documentsSystem StatusWallet-Login
Security and Trust

ID Verification

Have you ever had doubts about who you are sitting with? Many have the camera off and appear in the room with nicknames. Do you know who you are discussing sensitive topics with? To prevent abuse of trust, Together has the option of identity verification. In this case, a short session is conducted by a Together employee or contractor, during which an official identification document must be presented. If this is successful, the name on the identification document will be visible to all room users. It appears as a blue icon with a white checkmark on the video of the respective person.

Every verification goes through the following steps:

  1. You request a verification
  2. You choose a date for a live session
  3. In a live session, you must show an official ID
  4. The verification is granted for one year.

The verification is particularly useful in combination with other features of Together, such as named votes and explanations. Together then also stores the verification information.

How other users recognize a verification

In a room, you see a white tick on a blue background on people's video cards. When you hover over it with the mouse, you see some information about the person's verification, e.g. the date of the verification.

Christoph has been verified

Anyone who moves the mouse over the tick will see the identity card name on which this person was verified. In addition, Together shows when this was, how many days ago it was, and what procedure was used:

Miriam Kappes has been verified and everyone can see under which name she was verified, when this happened, and with which method.

How to verify your Together account

Every user can request verification. This verification is valid for one year.

After the beta, however, this will only be possible for paying users (PRO Plan).

Supported Environments

Previous Page

Privacy and GDPR

Next Page

On this page

How other users recognize a verificationHow to verify your Together accountStep 1: Request VerificationStep 2: Preparation and Appointment BookingStep 3: The Verification SessionAnmerkungen zur Verifikation

Step 1: Request Verification

You can do that either in the account or at the top of your own videocard:

"VERIFY MY ACCOUNT" at the bottom of the account dialog (accessible via the avatar at the top right).

"VERIFY MY ACCOUNT" to the right of the video title (mouse on checkmark shows the dialog).

Now a dialog appears, in which you

  1. enter your name as it appears on the identification document,
  2. can enter a special email address, and
  3. must agree to external data storage:

When you have clicked the "REQUEST APPOINTMENT" button, a blue-gray clock symbol is shown instead of the gray ? symbol.

This state is only visible in your own verification, no one else sees this. Accordingly, the infobox on your own video.

Step 2: Preparation and Appointment Booking

After clicking the "REQUEST APPOINTMENT" button, a date selection will appear in a new browser tab where you can choose an appointment:

Then information is requested. Unfortunately, you have to enter some things here that you have already entered. (We use an external service here). Only after ticking the box to allow storage can you "Book now".

Afterwards, you will receive an email at the entered address with a link to a Together verification room.

Step 3: The Verification Session

Please have the following documents ready: your ID card or passport.

Then click on the link to the verification room that we have emailed you and enter the room.

Please arrive on time for the session. If you are more than two minutes late, the session cannot start and you will have to request a new one.

The identity check is done via video ID with an official document. This identity check is voluntary and included once a year in an annual subscription.

Status changes to "VERIFIED", now the checkmark becomes nicely white and the background blue ;-)

If you give yourself a screen name that looks like a real surname after verification, we reserve the right to withdraw your verification immediately without stating reasons. Please also note that other users can report you for this. If this happens again, your account will be locked.

Anmerkungen zur Verifikation

We will soon involve a contractual partner who stores the legally necessary documents such as photos of the recording session in a legally secure manner and with certified processes. We will inform about this here and in the website stories. Your consent declaration is also formulated for this purpose.

Published Oct 2, 2026